Paddy’s Day Shenanigans

Good afternoon, folks!

The sun is out, which is utterly shocking. The sky is clear and blue, what is happening? Not raining in Ireland? How can it possibly be? (I must warn you, if you can’t tell already, I’m a very sarcastic person. I believe it’s quite obvious at this point.)

So, yes, as you guessed from the title, I am still posting about St. Patrick’s Day. I just really want to share my photos, because I’m so happy with how they turned out, so bear with me, it’ll be over soon.

I took too many photographs, probably, but I just don’t know when to stop. Oh well. I’m a photographer, it’s what we do.

Anyway, this years Paddy’s Day parade really surprised me. A lot more kids were involved, which was fantastic. Overall, it was a splendid day. The kids were smiling and dancing, and having a laugh with their friends. I had an ache in my arm (still do) from holding the camera for so long. But, it comes with the job.

I’m so glad they included more younger kids in this years parade; it added a more fun atmosphere. We chuckled and ‘awwed’ at their little jigs, as they grinned from ear to ear. It felt like a very inclusive parade, this year. No one was a stranger. Even in the rain, we still smiled. And that’s all that matters.

As we all parted and went our separate ways once the parade came to an end, I desperately tried to shield my camera from the rain; I treat it as if it’s my child. Is that normal? Our umbrella was broken, so we were entirely exposed to the rain. But at this point, I didn’t care. Not one bit. I felt alive. I felt rejuvenated. As I sheltered in the doorway of a pub (how Irish of me) with my mother by my side, an older man who took part in the parade, dressed as St. Patrick, I believe, strolled by and handed us both daffodils, from his adorable little basket. I couldn’t help but laugh. It was such a prideful day.

-Alice

alicephotography24@gmail.com

‘Ireland is where strange tales begin, and where happy endings are possible.’

 

One thought on “Paddy’s Day Shenanigans

Leave a Reply

