‘You Can Always Find Hope In A Dog’s Eyes’

Good Afternoon!

Yesterday, there was Snow. Today there is sunshine. What is happening? I’m terribly confused.

Anyway, on with the story. So, Ted is the dog I met a few weeks back, whilst I was out gallivanting with my camera, taking numerous shots by the lake. As I was doing so, a man accompanied with Ted, whom I had not been introduced to yet, greeted us (I was joined by Mother). This gentlemen, out of the kindness of his heart, went on to tell me ‘I know where you can get a good photograph.’ I smiled, utterly baffled. He was suggesting I photograph his dog, Ted. Never had a stranger approached me, offering a chance to photograph their dog.

Of course, I did not hesitate. I instantly fell in love with Ted (I fall in love with every animal I see, so no surprise there), so I dared not refuse. I followed them both, the gentlemen side by side with his best friend. I know, ever since I was a child I was told not to talk to strangers, but when a man approaches me and has a beautiful dog, and is offering up a chance to photograph said dog, I’m not exactly going to say no. I was far too excited.

In my town, there is a walkway called ‘Corry’s Field.’ Many people, mostly locals, walk around this area, either for pleasure or to torture themselves. It’s one hell of a walk. Anyway, at the entrance of Corry’s Field, there is a single stone wall, signed ‘Corry’s Field.’ It stands tall. This gentlemen instructed Ted to jump up onto it, and sit and pose. The photo’s were absolutely adorable. Just as the sun was setting, I captured this incredibly intelligent animal, simply watching the view. It was captivating. I fell in love even more.

Once I had gotten the shot, Ted jumped down and dropped a stick at my feet. He liked me, and as you can guess, the feeling was mutual. I willingly threw the stick and had a lovely conversation with his owner. I often see Ted out and about; at the very sight of him, I can’t help but smile. This gentlemen and his dog, made my night. Kindness still exists in this world. Cherish it.

-Alice

alicephotography24@gmail.com

 ‘A dog is the only thing on Earth that loves you more than you love yourself.’

-Josh Billings.

Leave a Reply

