A Place I Call Home

Home is where the heart is. Where you feel comfortable. That’s how I feel, in my hometown of Loughrea. Yes, people can judge you, but let them. Don’t associate the people with the town or village, or city you love and admire. What you love is the architecture, the history, the nature.

I was born in the city and moved to Loughrea when I was a baby. In my younger years, I was desperate to move to a big bustling city, filled with thousands of people, but I had forgotten the beauty of a small town. For the past two years, it has become my passion to photograph the place where I grew up, the place I call home. Considering I am having a love affair with my camera, and we go everywhere together, it’s become part of my daily routine to walk around the town, as much as I physically can.

A few days ago, I embarked on a mini adventure with two great friends, whom I grew up with (They’re probably reading this, so if you are, just ‘lemme know’). It was a glorious evening, the sun was just about to set and the flies were everywhere. I mean, everywhere. Near the end of our walk, I feared we’d be eaten alive by those horrid May Flies. But, alas, we survived. We walked by many fields of green, cows, nature, occasional manure. The scenery was to die for. I hadn’t traveled up this desolate road for years, I had surprisingly forgotten how enchanting it was. We basically had the road and the view to ourselves. It was such a lovely opportunity to photograph places of Loughrea that I do not regularly visit. But, knowing that there are beautiful little spots only a few steps away, is a lovely thing. I absolutely adore capturing the nature that blossoms around me. As the trees grow, I grow (well not really, I stopped growing years ago). But, all in all, I consider this to be a place I call home. A place where I can photograph with ease and not be judged. Albeit, some people can be judgmental at times (all the time), I still call it home. It’s where I grew up, where I dreamed of my future, where I made and lost friends, where I found myself. As a photographer, I tend to see the beauty in everything. I see beauty in this town. I see beauty in my home.

-Alice

alicephotography24@gmail.com

‘There’s no place like home…’

Leave a Reply

