‘Smiles All Around’

Apologies for my absence for the past two days. I have been recovering from an unexpected bout of sickness, but I am much better now. I am back, to regularly posting. Also, the Photo Shoot that was scheduled to commence last Friday, has been re-scheduled for tomorrow. So, fingers crossed all goes well! Stay tuned!

Before I even felt under the weather, I had spontaneously requested my sister to be a model, in the corner of our kitchen (how classy). Considering I was desperate to test out the capabilities of my brand new lighting equipment (which I am using tomorrow for my photo shoot), I wanted to see how well they worked for portraits. All in all, despite the constant rearrangement, the lights worked well. Check me out, becoming a full fledged freelance photographer. I’m slowly getting all the bits and pieces, and it feels absolutely fantastic. I have never felt so determined. I was apprehensive about the photo shoot that is going ahead tomorrow, but now I am genuinely excited. These amazing opportunities are slowly but surely encouraging me that I am a photographer worthy of respect.

This mini Photo shoot was a marvelous way of practicing. We had good fun. And that’s what will be important to me, no matter whom I photograph, even if we are complete strangers, I want you to feel comfortable. A fun, enjoyable, professional environment is pivotal. I might crack a joke every now and then, just to get a smile out of the model. I absolutely adore photographing people’s smiles. It speaks volumes. It somehow captures the soul. Smiles are one of the most beautiful things in this life, and I intend to capture as many as I can. Yes, smiles can be easily faked, I am well aware of that. But, whether the subject is smiling or not, their soul is evident, through their eyes. A smile can tell a lie, but the eyes speak the truth.

For me, the subject of the photograph, is most important. Catching someone mid-laugh, or as they smile, is a magnificent opportunity. Something I love to do; to photograph people in their element.

Being a photographer, whether I’m an amateur or a professional, comes with an understanding. You have to understand, when I look through a lens, I’m catching a glimpse of all that you are or all that you pretend to be. The camera I hold in my hand is a tool in which I can see everything. If you fake a smile, I know. If you’re eyes sparkle with happiness, I can hazard a guess as to why, doesn’t mean I guess right. The camera is an incredible thing, that captures the beauty of the human spirit. Without the photographer, there would be no powerful or beautiful image. Photography is about photographers, not about what camera you have.

All in all, I am really enjoying this journey. I hope you are too.

-Alice

alicephotography24@gmail.com

‘When people look at my pictures, I want them to feel the same way they do when they want to read a line of a poem twice.’

-Robert Frank

Leave a Reply

