Exploring Galway City: Bringing Back Memories

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for my lengthy absence. Unfortunately, I had a rather stressful week, which really took a toll on me. My anxiety was through the roof, and I suppose, in other words, I had a bit of a meltdown. Something came up, which caused me to question everything, to question my potential, my future. It was scary, I won’t lie. I had absolutely no energy nor motivation, and I neglected both my camera and my blog. For that, I am terribly sorry. I missed this, I truly did. I have finally come back to myself, my spirits have been lifted, and my eccentric personality has returned. Anxiety is extremely crippling, as I’m sure most of you know, and can completely control you. It knocked me down, but yet here I am, I got back up. That’s all that matters.

Anyway, yesterday I had the wonderful opportunity to stroll around Galway City (in which I was born), with my camera in tow. It was my first time out in days. The weather was blissful, and the smiles were infectious.  Although at times I felt as if I was melting from the overwhelming heat, I thoroughly enjoyed my day. I snapped this picture the moment I saw this group of people. I assumed they were a close knit group of friends, as it was entirely obvious how comfortable they all were with one another. Their laughter and smiles deserved to be photographed. They were basking in the delightful sunlight, surrounded by those whom they love. What better way to spend a summer’s evening.

It was peculiar for me, to stroll around parts of Galway in which I had not seen for many years. My mother and sister were guiding me down walkways I had long forgotten,  that were breath-taking. It reminded me of my childhood, when I would trudge along behind my Granddad, observing the hustle and bustle of Galway City, swerving in and out between the crowds of people. Many a time we would both venture out of his apartment, and let my sister and Nana have a nice little chat. He would often have to turn around to check if I was still there. Little did he know, that I was certain to never leave his side. Those were days I cherished, and still do. I felt as if, maybe he was tagging along yesterday, but this time following along behind me for a change. At one stage, we ventured down by a little beach, which I had remembered from one of my little walks with my Granddad. I hadn’t encountered it for years. It was surreal, I felt so old. My little feet once were embedded in the pebble stones, distracted entirely by the looming seagulls, throwing bread to the swans.  The whole day brought back precious memories. It was perfect. Of course,  I would have loved to have my Granddad physically by my side, but I know he was there, perhaps laughing at my sarcastic remarks or smiling at my silliness, or even rolling his eyes at my general behavior. Oh well, at least I know I’m funny.

Galway never ceases to amaze me. So, expect more pictures from my little adventures.

Don’t worry, I will actually be back tomorrow. And the day after that, and the day after that, and so on and so forth.

Have a splendid day!

-Alice, xo

alicephotography24@gmail.com

‘Ireland is where strange tales begin, and happy endings are possible.’

-Charles Haughey. 

Leave a Reply

