The Happy Couple: Photographing Galway

Yes, another post about Galway. I am counting down the days until I return to the city, whether it be to photograph, or just go shopping. I’ll decide once I’m there. Maybe I’ll just sit in Starbucks all day, and devour a copious amount of Frappucinos. I feel that may worry some people, but I am crazy after all.

Anyway, for some peculiar reason, I always seem to think of my Grandparents when I encounter an older couple. It just reminds me of our bond, and how much I miss all of them. I suppose, when I lay eyes on a happy older couple, I tend to reminisce about their relationship. Yes, they had their spats, petty arguments, plenty of differences, but at the end of the day, doesn’t everyone? When I watch a couple whom have shared years together, whom walk alongside each other without discussion, as it speaks volumes how comfortable they are with one another, I hope my Grandparents, wherever they are, are happy as can be. For whatever reason, they’re on my mind a lot lately. It’s nice to reflect on everything, and just smile. It’s important to acknowledge your past, as if you hide from it, it will become a burden. So, hence why I tend to reflect quite a lot. It’s sometimes good for the soul.

If they were still around, without a shadow of a doubt, I know they’d be people I’d regularly photograph. Not just because of their goods looks (and trust me, they were stunning) or their charming ways, but because of how they vividly brightened my world. Even if they refused to be photographed, I’d sneak a picture or two, without their knowledge, and keep the result just for myself.

Perhaps, my photography will expand and progress the further more I attach an aspect of emotion. I’m usually quite an emotive photographer, and love to have a back story to an image, but maybe I should become more accustomed to sharing my own stories, along with a picture. I don’t talk a lot about my Grandparents, as I miss them terribly, even after all the years, but it’s lovely just to share my thoughts.

Okay, enough of this sappy post, it was just a little insight into my thought process lately. Thanks for taking the time to read.

Anyway, I have plenty more pictures to come, and a sarcasm enriched post. Stay tuned!

-Alice, xo

alicephotography24@gmail.com

‘When someone you love becomes a memory, that memory becomes a treasure.’

-Unknown.

Leave a Reply

