Portraits of Dogs Are A Blessing To This World

I’m quite certain I am not the only one, that absolutely melts once they set eyes on a dog. It’s human nature, well if you’re a decent human being anyway. Dogs are a gift to this world, as all animals are. It’s quite a rare occurrence for me to pass by a dog or a cat, or any other creature without acknowledging it. I just love to engage with them, their souls are beautiful. I often sit beside a dog if it’s tied up on a lead, waiting for their owner to return from their errands; I love to keep them company. Everyone whom knows me, is aware of how much I care for animals. So, I love to include my pets in my photography. They’re the most important things in my life, they’re my family. Right now, as I type this, my cat is curled up asleep in my bed, nestled into a blanket. I don’t bat an eye. Yes, I may protest saying ‘But I just changed my sheets’, and then I see those little eyes looking up at me, and I just swoon. How can I refuse? I’m only human. Their comfort is what matters most to me. Before they found they’re home, who knows what kind of life they experienced, of what they saw, of what they witnessed, so I don’t stop them from doing what they want, from doing what makes them happy. I love photographing animals. It’s a splendid experience.

I remember on my trip to London last year, whilst walking into a huge shopping center, I encountered a dog waiting for his owner. He was a a Golden Retriever. I was with my sister, whom walked on ahead of me. You see, whenever I bump into a dog, my initial response is to squeak ‘Aw, look at the beautiful doggy’, or something like that anyway. Anyhow, I plopped down beside this adorable golden retriever, and befriended it. His tail never stopped wagging. Others walked on by, but that is something I cannot and refuse to do. My sister, whom thought I was still walking along beside her, panicked, and came out of the main entrance, a worried expression plastered on her face. I was in a world of my own, talking away to my new little friend. We had already become best friends. My sister urged me to follow her, and of course, that meant having to leave my friend. I always hate walking away from dogs, when they’re tail continues wagging, hopeful that you’ll decide to stay. But, the best part is seeing them being reunited with their owner. Sheer happiness overwhelms them, and it’s the most beautiful sight.

So, photographing my dog is something I cherish. I captured this photo on an incredibly hot day, so he was a ‘Hot Dog’ (I’m so funny, feel free to laugh). I love photographing him in his element, watching and sniffing all that surrounds him. The most curious dog. The day I stop photographing animal, is they day the world will stop spinning, so essentially, never.

Cherish your pets, provide an abundance of love and comfort, always.

-Alice, xo

alicephotography24@gmail.com

‘When I look into the eyes of an animal I do not see an animal. 

I see a living being.

I see a friend.

I feel a soul’.

-A.D. Williams. 

One thought on “Portraits of Dogs Are A Blessing To This World

Leave a Reply

