Turning 21: A Big Milestone

I’m not usually one to be in front of the camera, but it was my birthday, and I didn’t even care. So, yes, that’s me. You’re welcome.

And before you even think it, I did not have a wild, messy, over the top party, nor did I intoxicate myself to the extent that I would forget the entire evening. You don’t need alcohol to have fun. Take note, millennials (ignore the fact that I too am a millennial, but I’m an old soul, so I’m the exception).

So, on a less sarcastic note, I turned 21 last week! I am now officially an Adult, and I have no idea how I feel about it yet. On the one hand, I’m thrilled, yet on the other, I’m finding it quite daunting. For the past few weeks, I’ve been like Joey from Friends, begging to never age and believing a deal with ‘God’ will prevent the aging process. Yes, you are %100 right, I am not of a sane mind.

Anyway, despite the little fear of approaching adulthood, I eventually welcomed it with open arms. I have a job, I’m close to being a full licenced driver, and I have accomplished many things. So, 21 is a big milestone for me. I am at a place in my life, that I never thought I’d be. I’m happier, chattier, and less anxious (by that I mean, I’m not a walking, talking, breathing ball of anxiety, but trust me, I have my moments). Of course, I still have underlining issues, but doesn’t everyone? I’m giving myself some credit (not something I tend to do), for getting back up, and facing life head on. So, turning 21 helped me do that. Becoming 21 helped me realise, life doesn’t have to be that stressful and I shouldn’t let inner fears control me. In some things, I have developed a ‘F**k it’ attitude. Yes, I’ll have doubts, but I’m trying not to let them seep in and take control.

I had a little party at my house, for the first time in years. I was surrounded by family and friends, and I couldn’t have asked for better company (pizza included). One of my amazing friends (more like sister) made me a cake, or as I liked to call it ‘Heaven On A Plate’. I was also gifted amazing, funny 21 presents from my extended family. It’s things like that, that encourage me to think that I am loved and treasured, and always will be. You are, too. You just have to choose to believe it.

Happy Belated Birthday, to me!

-Alice, xo

P.S. I feel old.

alicephotography24@gmail.com

‘Life is too short to worry about stupid things. Have fun. Regret nothing, and don’t let people bring you down.’

-Unknown.

Leave a Reply

